Arquivo do blog

A Communicative Grammar of English By Geoffrey Leech Jan Svartvik

A Communicative Grammar of English By Geoffrey Leech Jan Svartvik. A Communicative Grammar of English has long been established as a grammar innovative in approach, reliable in coverage, and clear in its explanations. This fully revised and redesigned third edition provides up-to-date and accessible help to teachers, advanced learners and undergraduate students of English. Part One looks at the way English grammar varies in different types of English, such as ‘formal’ and ‘informal’, ‘spoken’ and ‘written’; Part Two focuses on the uses of grammar rather than on grammatical structure and Part Three provides a handy alphabetically arranged guide to English grammar. A new workbook, The Communicative Grammar of English Workbook also accompanies this edition.

A Communicative Grammar of English Third Edition By Geoffrey Leech Jan Svartvik 

A Practical English Grammar By Thomson and Martinet

A Practical English Grammar By Thomson and Martinet’s classic intermediate grammar for foreign learners is the most widely used book of its kind. It is popular because its explanations are clear and because it deals thoroughly with the topics which students find most difficult.

 A Practical English Grammar By Thomson and Martinet 

MASSIVE LIST OF PAPERS AND MAGAZINES FOR ENGLISH LEARNERS

 UK National
BBC News bbc.co.uk/news
Channel4 News channel4.com/news
ITN itn.co.uk/Home/TopStories
Sky News news.sky.com/
The Guardian theguardian.com/uk
The Times thetimes.co.uk
The Telegraph telegraph.co.uk
The Independent independent.co.uk
The Daily Mail dailymail.co.uk
The Daily Mirror mirror.co.uk
The Daily Express express.co.uk
The Daily Star dailystar.co.uk
The Sun thesun.co.uk
The SundayTimes thesundaytimes.co.uk/sto
Sunday Herald heraldscotland.com
 UK Regional
 England
Birmingham Post birminghampost.co.uk
Bristol Evening Post bristolpost.co.uk
Liverpool Daily Post liverpoolecho.co.uk
London Evening Standard standard.co.uk
Manchester Evening News manchestereveningnews.co.uk
Newcastle Evening Chronicle chroniclelive.co.uk
Nottingham Evening Post nottinghampost.com
Western Daily Press westpress.co.uk
Yorkshire Evening Post yorkshireeveningpost.co.uk
 Scotland
Aberdeen Press & Journal pressandjournal.co.uk
Dundee Courier thecourier.co.uk
Glasgow Herald heraldscotland.com
The Scotsman (Edinburgh) scotsman.com
 Wales
This is South Wales southwales-eveningpost.co.uk
IC Wales newswales.co.uk/index.cfm
Wales Online walesonline.co.uk
 Feature articles:
New Scientist newscientist.com
The Economist economist.com
Financial Times ft.com/intl/world/uk
The Times Higher Education Supplement timeshighereducation.co.uk
EL Gazette elgazette.com
Scholastic News teacher.scholastic.com/scholasticnews/indepth/index....
Popular Science popsci.com
National Geographic nationalgeographic.com
Esquire esquire.com
 US
The New York Times nytimes.com
The Washington Post washingtonpost.com
The Wall Street Journal europe.wsj.com/home-page
Los Angeles Times latimes.com
USA Today usatoday.com
New York Daily News nydailynews.com
NewYork Post nypost.com
NPR npr.org/sections/news
Chicago Sun-Times suntimes.com/index.html
Chicago Trib chicagotribune.com
The Denver Post denverpost.com
Houston Chronicle chron.com
 Canada
National Post nationalpost.com/index.html
The Vancouver Sun vancouversun.com/index.html
Ottawa Citizen ottawacitizen.com/index.html
Times Colonist timescolonist.com/index.html
The Chronicle Herald thechronicleherald.ca
Toronto Sun torontosun.com
The Globe & Mail theglobeandmail.com
Calgary Gerald calgaryherald.com/index.html
Winniepeg Free Press winnipegfreepress.com
 Australia
The Age theage.com.au
The Sydney Morning Herald smh.com.au
The Australian theaustralian.com.au
The Sydney Morning Herald smh.com.au
TheWestAustralian au.news.yahoo.com/thewest
 New Zealand
NewZealandHerald nzherald.co.nz
Stuff stuff.co.nz
Local Matters localmatters.co.nz
Migrant News migrantnews.co.nz
The National Business Review nbr.co.nz
Otago Times odt.co.nz
NZ Herald nzherald.co.nz
 Ireland
Irish Times irishtimes.com
Irish Indep independent.ie


The Teacher's Guide to Grammar

The Teacher's Guide to Grammar is unique in focusing directly on the aspects of grammar that teachers need to know. Assuming little or no formal linguistic education, this concise and accessible book provides the necessary background knowledge required in the classroom context. There are detailed chapters on the nuts and bolts of language: words, morphology, sentences, phrases, verbs, and clauses. Other important educational issues concerned in the teaching of English are discussed: the grammatical variation that differentiates standard and non-standard English how grammar varies in relation to the purpose and audience of a text and the different grammatical characteristics of different languages. Throughout, illustrations are given using examples from the real spoken and written language produced by learners.

 Resultado de imagem para The Teacher's Guide to Grammar

Learner's Grammar


Resultado de imagem para Learner's Grammar
Link DOWNLOAD

Just


Link download 01
Link download 02
Link download 03
Link download 04
Link download 05

Advanced Grammar in Use - Martin Hewings [Cambridge]

1. Advanced Grammar in Use - 1st Edition

2. Advanced Grammar in Use - 2nd Edition

3. Advanced Grammar in Use - 3rd Edition

4. Advanced Grammar in Use - Supplementary Exercises



 

Link download 01
Link download 02
Link download 03
Link download 04


What Is Good Writing?

There was a time when good writing would be defined simply by adverting to a few literary classics. That kind of strategy is less helpful these days, when so many different styles and voices clamor for attention. What Is Good Writing? sets the terms for a contemporary debate on writing achievement by drawing on empirical research in linguistics and the other cognitive sciences that shed light on the development of fluency in language generally. The utility of defining good writing as fluent writing in this sense C on a par with the typical fluency in speech attained by normal adults - is demonstrated by the progress it permits in evaluating the success of current writing programs in school and university, which for the most part have proved unable to deliver writing assessments that are both valid and reliable. What Is Good Writing? indicates an alternative approach that rests on a more scientific footing and shows why reading is key and why standard composition programs are so often seen to fail.